Shade Tree Commission

The Borough of Manville Shade Tree Commission is an appointed commission for the purpose of the regulation, planting, care and control of shade and ornamental trees and shrubbery in the streets, highways and public places of the Borough of Manville. 

The Commission also;

  • Holds the Annual Arbor Day ever year in April to promote tree stewardship in the community.
  • Reports annually to the State of New Jersey on the progress of the Borough in implementing its Community Forestry Management Plan and its status as a Tree City.
All street trees in Manville are under the control of the Borough, so it is not legal to cut, prune, remove or damage any street tree.


NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN the Borough of Manville Shade Tree Commission will hold the following meetings for 2022:

Public Meetings:

  • Tuesday, January 4th
  • Tuesday,  March 1st
  • Wednesday, June 1st
  • Tuesday, September 6th
  • Tuesday, November 1st

Committee Meeting:

  • Tuesday, February 1st
  • Tuesday, April 5th

Arbor Day:

  • Friday, April 29th

All meetings will be held at 6:00 PM in the Community Room at the Manville Public Library, 100 South 10th Avenue, Manville, NJ. 

Special meetings, if needed, will be scheduled with 48 hour notice to the newspaper and public with the reason for any special meetings clearly noted. 


Two (2) Commissioners @ 5 Year Terms (January 6, 2018 to December 31, 2022) 

Jack Kuhlman, Certified Tree Expert, CORE Qualified, Acting Chairman                                                                                                              Joseph Markiewicz, Retired - Tree Committee, CORE Qualified

Two (2) Commissioners @ 4 Year Terms (January 4, 2021 to December 31, 2024)  

Joe Gullia, Department of Public Works

 Philip E. Petrone - Ret. Dor. P/W - Tree Committee, CORE Qualified

One (1) Commissioner @ 3 Year Term (January 6, 2022 to December 31, 2024) 

Scott Merry, Equipment Operator, Department of Public Works, CORE Qualified

One (1) Commissioner @ 2 Year Term (January 4, 2021 to December 31, 2022) 

Charles Truskowski, CORE Qualified

One (1) Commissioner @ 1 Year Term (January 6, 2022 to December 31, 2022) 

Mayor Richard Onderko

One (1) Alternate Representative @ 5 Year Term (January 4, 2021 to December 31, 2025) 

Nicholas Trilone, Retired - Land Surveyor, CORE Qualified, Co-Chairperson


GGG Planting Trees (2)
Thank You Poster
Emerald Ash Borer
Managing Ash Trees
See It Report It